December 31, 2011

2011 in Review

Wow! I can't believe how fast 2011 has gone by! 
It's been a great year for Laura Laing Photography! I've gotten to meet some amazing people and shoot some awesome events this year. 
Thank you to everyone one who has made this such an amazing year!

2011-0001 Engagement: Brian & Clare 2011-0002 2011-0003 2011-0004 2011-0005 2011-0006 2011-0007 2011-0008 2011-0009 2011-0010 2011-0011 2011-0012 2011-0013 2011-0015 2011-0016 2011-0017 2011-0018 2011-0019 2011-0020
(If you don't recognize this last one, it's because it's coming to the blog next week! It's the last wedding of 2011!)

December 1, 2011

Golden Goggle Awards 2011

My mom always said I was born to swim. I'd sit in my stroller and kick my legs as fast as they would go. Once I got in a pool I was like a fish to water. Swimming has now been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. Until about a year ago, I could still be found at swim meets almost every weekend running the timing system or running the computer system.

So, you can imagine my delight when an email came in from the USA Swimming Foundation asking me to photograph their biggest (non-swimming) event of the year, the Golden Goggle Awards! It was such an honor to meet some of my favorite Olympians and photograph such a large event! Thank you USA Swimming Foundation for trusting me this honor!


I got to play on the red carpet before the event!

Kaitlin Sandeno, 2000 & 2004 Olympian (and my idol when I was a swimmer!), & Mel Stewart, two-time Olympic gold medalist, and our guide for the evening!

Kaitlin Sandeno & Jason Lezak (fellow Rose Bowl Aquatics swimmer!)

Ryan Lochte, you'll get to know him really well during the next Olympics!

Shooting on the red carpet!


Our Host for the evening Kevin Nealon.

Female Race of the Year:
Presenters - Chris Bauer (True Blood) & Dave Berkoff
Winner - Missy Franklin

Male Race of the Year:
Presenters - John Slattery (Mad Men) & Amy Van Dyken
Winner - Ryan Lochte

"The Return"


Bill Maxon & Rowdy Gaines

Impact Award:
Presenters - Ryan Lochte
Winner - Carolyn Dirks

Breakout Performer of the Year:
Presenters - Kevin Farley & Debbie Meyer
Winner - Alex Meyer

Perseverance Award:
Presenters - John Naber & Louie Zamperini (The book Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption was written about him)
Winner - Peter Vanderkay

Coach of the Year:
Presenters - Dave Wharton & Summer Sanders
Winner - Greg Troy

Relay Performance of the Year:
Presenters - Tyler & Cameron Winklevoss (aka the guys that helped create Facebook!)
Winner - 4x100 Relay Natalie Coughlin, Melissa Franlkin, Dana Vollmer, Rebecca Soni

Female Athlete of the Year:
Presenters - Michael Lewis (author of Moneyball & The Blind Side) and Janet Evans
Winner - Missy Franklin

Male Athlete of the Year:
Presenters - Brian Clay & Matt Biondi
Winner - Ryan Lochte


And to end the evening, a picture with my new friend, Kaitlin Sandeno!

Were you a guest at the Golden Goggles? Check out the rest here!